♡ Baked Semolina Dessert ♡

THISS!
Turkish traditional desserts usually have sugar water syrup in them which we call sherbet. This one is one of those too. But the thing is I didn’t use as much sugar as the traditional dessert would use so this dessert is somewhat healthier? Well to me anyways.
Less sugar = healthier in my eyes. Cutting out sugar has really helped me lose weight in the past so this is how I do it but of course if you prefer very sweet desserts then of course you can add more.
What I did in this recipe was take out the sugar in the actual dessert and I only added it in the ‘sherbet’. And honestly I genuinely think this was the perfect amount of sweetness and if I had added the sugar in the actual dessert too it would be too sweet for me.
The main reason I don’t like having overly sweet dessert is that when I eat something too sweet my throat tingles for some reason? I’m not sure if that’s normal to be honest. It used to happen a lot more. I managed to trained my taste buds somehow over years.
Okay back to the dessert. What is so special about this amazing thing is that I baked it. Semolina dessert has so many ways to be  made. With sherbet, milk, pudding like, with cake…  The milk one is my favorite after this one and I promise I will be definitely showing you that way too soon cause it’s just too amazing to miss out.

Ingredients:

 

115 gr butter

 

1 cup powdered sugar

 

1/2 cup flour

 

150 gr semolina

 

1 cup coconut flakes

 

175 ml milk

 

1/2 tbsp baking powder

 

1 tbsp vanilla extract

For the sherbet/syrup:

 

1/2 cup powdered sugar

 

150 ml water

 

1 tbsp lemon juice

For the top: 

 

Almonds

 

 

Directions:

 

1. Boil water, sugar and lemon juice for the syrup.

2. Let it cool in the fridge.

3. Preheat oven 180 C.

4. Melt butter.

5. Let it cool.

6. Add in sugar, flour, semolina, coconut flakes, milk, baking powder, vanilla extract.

7. Put the mixture in a mold.

8. Shape it anyway you want.

9. After it’s out of the oven pour the cold syrup on top.

10. Put almonds on top.

11. Enjoy!

                                                     

♡ Bon appetit! ♡

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Looks very nice. I like the idea of using semolina for a change (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. apinchofasli says:

      Thank you 🙂 You should try it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

